Cross Disc Post Mortem

There is no final project videos of this yet but i Have screenshots of after my edits:
HighresScreenshot0000223423423423423423HighresScreenshot00000HighresScreenshot00001

The working files for the stuff i made can be found here:

This was my first cross disc for a games student creating Models and Visual FX to be placed in the scene.

I made The Heat Hawk Axe:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This meteor which did not get used:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For visual Effects I made this first initial beam which did not get used:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then the second beam i made was approved and used:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I also had to make smoke:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sparks as well:

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The last thing i had to create was a night sky:

HighresScreenshot00003

For my other cross disc for a games student since this one was so big they only asked me to make mood boards for them as references for later use:

Forrest_Landscape_Mood_Board_1Forrest_Landscape_Mood_Board_2Mountain_Landscape_Mood_Board_1Mountain_Landscape_Mood_Board_2Communication:

I communicated to both of my cross discs via discord and Facebook for input and was regularly checking in and requesting references ect to cause less issues for me later on when making stuff for them.

As for tracking tasks there was no way to track tasks from both projects so i set up my own trello task list as i was not given one or linked to one.

What went well:

I created the assets asked of me and to my standards. This happened because i stuck to some of the reference provided for me and the lists i was given as well as the stylistic choices from each team.

What didn’t go so well:

In my first cross disc there was not enough reference so when i started to create visual FX for this team they would get upset that that wasn’t what they wanted even though no refs were provided. Thus resulting in me having to remake the beam particle. Same goes for the meteor.

For my other cross disc they just didn’t give me much to do so i completed the mood boards for them and put all my effort in to the other group.

What I would do differently next time:

Talk to my teachers about cross disc then friends or other people finding me groups as this resulted in miss communication and assets not needing to be made for teams.

What did I learn about the students workflows:

I learnt that in games they use variant use of language and work more to a unity type workflow then unreal. They also expect the impossible so we as animators have to be more realistic with them and the tasks set for scope reasons. The games students also do a lot of documentation however the teams i was in there was none provided so that was new to me and the games students normally are strict with time limits play testing but i was unaware of any of that for both of the teams I worked with.

Leave a comment